7 Labour MPs to split from the Labour Party to form a new “independent group”

7 Labour back-bench MPs have just announced their resignations from the Labour Party following rumours of a split over the handling of Brexit, alleged antisemitism, and ideological conflicts over current Labour Leadership.

The 7 MPs, Chuka Umunna, Luciana Berger, Chris Leslie, Angela Smith, Mike Gapes, Gavin Shuker, and Anne Coffey, have handed in their formal resignations to the Party after it was speculated that a split was imminent to occur this Wednesday before the Prime Minister’s Questions.

The Labour rebels have cited a shift in Labour Party leadership towards more left-leaning policies, including the nationalisation of services such as the provision of water. Chris Leslie has said that the Labour Party has been “hijacked” by far-left ideologues.

Prior to the announcement, several Labour Party members have rumoured that deselection processes for several Labour MPs were being considered, including talks within Berger’s own constituency of Wavertree, within historically Labour leaning Liverpool.

The group have claimed that the current system of politics is “broken” by “tribal groups” and the aim of the newly formed Party, called the Independent Group, will aim to divert political emphasis away from the left and right stances of the Labour and Conservative Party respectively.

This has led to commentators to refer to the party as a new “Centrist Party” that was speculated in the months prior to the announcement and it is currently unknown how the Party will be governed or organised.

In a statement released after a press conference with the 7 newly independent MPs, Jeremy Corbyn has condemned the split and has remarked that he is “disappointed” with the decisions of the 7 back-benchers in the face of a sitting Government that is “bungling Brexit”.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.