3 Tory MPs announce they would vote against government to stop No Deal Brexit

3 Tory MPs have announced they would vote against the government to stop a No Deal Brexit, suggesting Labour could win a vote of no confidence should the Tories aim for a No Deal Brexit, though the opposition would need some more Tory rebels or DUP support to the motion.

Labour are yet to table a motion of no confidence in the government but the minor opposition parties have tabled one.

The Labour Party refuse to back a motion of no confidence until Theresa May’s Brexit deal is voted down. This won’t be until January as the vote on the deal will be in the week commencing 14th January.

The vote will have to wait till an SNP opposition day as unlike a vote of no confidence coming from the official opposition the government does not have to table the vote.

Should May decide that it truly is her deal or no deal 3 Tory MPs, Sarah Woolaston, Nick Boles and Anna Soubry, have all stated they would act to stop the scenario. Boles is a strong supporter of a Norway plus Brexit while Anna Soubry is one of the figureheads of the People’s Vote campaign.

Wollaston in a tweet stated:

Soubry said No Deal “must be taken off the table”.

Analysis from Iwan Doherty- Editor in Chief

These announcements show why Labour are waiting for May’s deal to be voted down before calling a vote of no confidence. Should May fail to pass her deal she will have to back a softer Brexit, such as Labour’s plan, or she will become very vulnerable to a vote of no confidence. The minor opposition parties have clearly prioritised getting a 2nd referendum over a general election. They believe by forcing a vote now Labour will join them in supporting a 2nd referendum once it has failed.


Recommended Posts