Three Ministers resign over EU bill

Esther McVey, Work and Pensions Secretary, has resigned over Theresa May’s draft EU withdrawal bill.

She follows Brexit Secretary, Dominic Raab, who resigned earlier this morning claiming he cannot ” in good conscience support the terms proposed for our deal with the EU.”

This comes only a day after May announced a breakthrough in talks. An emergency EU summit was set for the 25th November to confirm the deal, but May now faces a battle to get it through Parliament at all. MPs on all sides: Brexiteer Conservative MPs and Remainers have both vowed to vote against the plan.

Theresa May is due to make a statement in the house and answer questions from MPs at 10:30 AM. It is likely more resignations will follow.

The cabinet collectively (on majority) agreed to the deal last night, but it has been reported that at least 10 senior members opposed it.

Junior Northern Ireland minister Shailesh Vara has also resigned.

More to follow. 




Recommended Posts